Disqualified? #2 Tested by Fire


Yesterday I wrote about Paul’s concern in 2 Cor 13:5 where we need to “examine ourselves” as to whether “you are in the faith”. Recently a man shared with me that he has brought over 100 people to Christ. My first thought was ‘wonderful’, but as he continued to talk I became very uncomfortable with his self-proclamations. “I did this, I did that for Christ” and he was seriously thinking about starting up a church. The 10 minutes I spent with him seemed like 10 days. Was this guy “in the faith”? Or was he proclaiming his faith as one would proclaim their allegiance to the Chicago Cubs? There was something missing, something that just did not make sense.

Peter wrote in 1 Peter 1:7 that “the genuineness of your faith, being much more precious than gold, though it is tested by fire, may be found to praise, honor, and glory at the revelation of Jesus Christ”. This gentleman’s statement  that he ” brought over 100 people to Christ” will be tested by fire. I hope he did bring 100 people to Christ; but I can’t help but wonder what if he didn’t and then what? What could be ones motive to even think or to speak in such a way?

Just as  what I do and say this day “will be tested by fire”, I pray the Holy Spirit will lead me to a quality self-examination. I hope you all will think about these things as well.

Leave a Reply

