My Alcoholic Christian Friend: Part 2


‘Most assuredly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep.” John 10:7

As I wrote yesterday, I brought my friend to the local “de-tox ” clinic. It was 4PM and it was  visitation hour at the clinic. I was amazed at the large amount of people congregating around the parking lot waiting to see loved ones and friends come out from the main entrance. It was if people were waiting for arrival passengers at a airport terminal.

My friend and I prayed in my car. I walked him to the the door, gave him a big hug, insured he had his Scriptures and told him to call if he needed anything. As I turned away, I gazed over the parking lot and could see the number of people at the parking lot was now well over 50. So many hurt faces, so may tears. I pulled out from parking space and drove slowly through the parking lot to the driveway. Gray cold stares was all I could see; lifeless bodies roaming aimlessly. Satan was at work. There was no denying it.  I wanted to open up my pocket Scriptures and “yell from the rooftop” the fruits of salvation; but wait a minute. I just brought my Christian friend to the same place where Satan “was at work”.

Maybe I got this all wrong. How would I explain to the people in the parking lot that I have the answers they need after just dropping off my friend, my Christian friend to the same place?

My prayer is that the door that my friend entered had the Lord’s saints waiting for him. To be cared for and to be strengthened. Just as some other people there, my friend had not lost his faith; he had fell into a horrible pit. He believes in Christ and further believes that no matter what happens to him, he is in the Lord’s hand. As my friend told me, this was the “lowest of low” that he had ever encountered.I do not ever remember seeing such a ‘humble’ person in my life as when my friend went through those doors.

So, as I drove away, I imagined clinics like this for those committing adultery, cheating on their taxes, lying, stealing, and so on. I could not help but wonder which clinic I could end up at…….

“for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” Romans 3:23

Leave a Reply

