Checkbook Worship: Are the Churches Belt-Tightening?


Imagine a church that has a monthly mortgage payment of $90,000.00? According to a blog in Orange County(orangecountyblog.com), a church in Santa Ana, California named Templo Calvario had a $11,000,000.00 refurbish done. Is that really necessary? According to the church officials, yes. To have room for more community activities was a reason given.

Rick Warren asks for $900,000.00 and gets $2,000,000.00. His reasons according to his “emergency appeal letter” was finance overstretched ministries assisting needy families. A church in the town where I live is building a  $5.1 dollar “activity” center.  Another church in town is building a four story community center. It seems that there has been more growth of buildings of the church in my town than people attending church.

An elderly friend of mine shared with me a few weeks ago that her church wanted her to fill out a form and state how much she will be pledging to donate the 2010. With a tearful eye, she told me that she does not know how much she will be giving next Sunday. She continued to share that she remembered when  the church would pray to the Lord and He did provide for everything; free. Donations would pour in, plumbers, electricians and so on would come knocking on the door. But now,”no” she said, “everything has to be contracted out.”

Have the churches lost sight of Isaiah 66?

“Heaven is my throne, and earth is my footstool. Where is the house you will build me? And where is the place of My rest? For all those things My hand has made. And all those things exist,” Says the Lord. “But on this one I will look: On him who is poor and of a contrite spirit, and who trembles at my word.” Isaiah 66:1-2

I really do hope all these buildings are for God’s purpose and not just for a church whose claim is that they have better basketball facilities.

Leave a Reply

