Wars and Rumors of War: When It’s Not A Rumor Anymore


My youngest son leaves for Afghanistan next week and this war, after a zillion years, has now become personal. 41 years ago next month I left for Vietnam. 26 years before my heading across the Pacific, my dad was in North Africa during WWII. Another rumor has become true.

War is no longer a rumor to me now, it is a fact. A fact that seems ridiculously tolerable. We scream that hospitals, food distributions, housing was not ready to go in Haiti 24 hours after the earthquake yet we allow  this “marathon of nothingness” to move along with little debate.

God is not into politics as far as I can see.  I will continue to pray about this war, and now that the rumor has been confirmed, I’ll be praying for my son with a whole different prayer.

The righteous cry out and the Lord hears,And delivers out of all their troubles.

The Lord is near to those who have a broken heart, And saves such as have a contrite spirit.”

Psalm34:17-18

Leave a Reply

