My Alcoholic Christian Friend Part 3: The Song Remains the Same


Two days after my friend was released from ‘de-tox’, he started drinking again. I was stunned. What on earth makes a person do what he is doing  to himself. My wife simplified this sad story in a very short thought, “he is either going to surrender himself to Christ or he will continue to give himself to Satan”. But wait, he is a “saved child of God”, I answered back; how can this continuous state of drunkenness still continue?

His church associate pastor told him to “get going to a AA meeting; my words will not help you. Its either a meeting or the hospital, then possibly the morgue”.

“Whoever desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me.” Mark 8:34b

This is the only path I know. I hope that my friend will be sober enough to read, say and  place   this verse in his heart (again?) soon; very soon!

Leave a Reply

