Part 5 My Alcoholic Christian Friend: Not a Program, But God


“Then He touched their eyes, saying, “According to your faith let it be to you.”  Matt 9:29

My friend has not had a drink for 8 days. I hate these countdowns, but for whatever reason, alcoholics use these type of markers along this path to recovery. We had coffee yesterday morning and he shared with me that for the first time, “I hate alcohol..I really hate it.”

He told me that after his last sip of beer, he gave everything to God.  For 72 hours, he had chills, shakes, vomiting, diarrhea and all the physiological effects of “detox.” He further shared that this “detox” was different. No medication to “assist” him through this. No 12 step readings. No counselor telling him things he alrready knew. Most importantly was that the incredible state of loneliness he experienced over the years (which he believed made him consume alcohol) had dissipated. Now, this moment, he really felt “cleansed.”

Thank you Lord! I can’t imagine him going through these trials and tribulations again.

Leave a Reply

