Tiger Woods: Screwtape Offers a Critique


My Dear Wormwood,

Good job with Mr. Woods! I had been wondering  how long his wonderful blemishes would be held back from all who know of  your patient. You did a great job at his news conference!  He never said he ‘loved’ his wife, and most of all, he never asked the Enemy for forgiveness; he asked his fellow man! Simply splendid! Just recently one of my own patients who arrived down here  said, “I now see that I spent most of my life in doing neither what I ought nor what I liked.”  I believe our Mr. Woods will mumble the same; that is unless the Enemy gets to him first. As of now, the word ‘repent’ does not exist with him. Keep it that way! Remember,the size of the sin does not matter;” the only thing that matters is the extent to which you separate the man from the Enemy.”

Quotes are from The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis (Penguin Book Publishers,1988, p.45,46)

Leave a Reply

