Mozart for Your Sunday :The Lacrimosa in English


I love Mozart. For all of my years appreciating Mozart’s Requiem, I never fully investigated the translation of this incredible music until recently.  My personal favorite of this Requiem is ‘Lacrimosa’. Here is the English translation:

“That day of tears and mourning,                                
when from the ashes shall arise,
all humanity to be judged.
Spare us by your mercy, Lord,
gentle Lord Jesus,
grant them eternal rest. Amen.”

When you read these lyrics while hearing the music in the background, it is quite exhilarating.   

“Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me.” Rev 3:20 

For some this Day will be welcomed with joy; and others complete anguish. It is not just judgement on that Day, it is a verdict. Yet;

“Be of good cheer! It is I;do not be afraid.” Matthew 14:27

Have a wonderful day; this day the Lord has given us!

Leave a Reply

