Mark 8 Revisited: “How is it you do not understand?” (v.21)


It seems to happen every so often where I believe my faith and testimony is as strong as ever. Then, without warning, I find myself doubting everything.  In Mark 8, Jesus finds the apostles feeling nervous that they may have forgotten to bring bread for the  journey as Jesus says, “Beware of the leaven of the Pharisees and the leaven of Herod” (v.15). Jesus responds very directly; really puts it to them (the apostles). In so many words, He says ‘you should be a step ahead of this by now.’ ‘You will never run out of bread when you are with Me.’ ‘Why all this doubt?’ When Jesus asks, “Is your heart still hardened?”, that to me is the zinger.

These men have been chosen not only for this three year journey with our Lord, but will sit with Him to judge the twelve tribes of Israel. (Matt 19:28) These are  important men! So when I see myself “doubting” my strength for the work ahead of me , I know the Lord has already made the bread to nourish and strengthen me for this day. Because of His strength and love in me , I do understand….Thank God!

Leave a Reply

