Facts are Stubborn Things: John 20:27-29


John Adams, ‘Argument in Defense of the Soldiers in the Boston Massacre Trials,’ December 1770, said to the tribunal: “Facts are stubborn things; and whatever may be our wishes, our inclinations, or the dictates of our passion, they cannot alter the state of facts and evidence.”
Doubting Thomas as he has been called, did one thing that I believe many of us have failed to do; that is call upon Him that He is the Son of God. Its been written that Thomas was so grieved over the apparent physical loss of Jesus in his life, he wanted no doubt that this Man was not a ghost or an illusion as some were reporting.
When we become “generational” believers, I believe that we may fall into a pattern of  ‘assumption’; facts without substance. The substance that along this path we have is twofold; God’s Spirit and God’s word, the Bible.
27 Then He said to Thomas, “Reach your finger here, and look at My hands; and reach your hand here, and put it into My side. Do not be unbelieving, but believing.”
28 And Thomas answered and said to Him, “My Lord and my God!”
29 Jesus said to him, “Thomas, because you have seen Me, you have believed. Blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.”
I can remember sitting in the last row in a church and asking/stating that “if this whole thing is real; I’m ready for the journey.”  The journey is still evolving and I am so joyful that I understand this “fact”; that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of the living God.
Leave a Reply

