My Alcoholic Friend: The Final Chapter


My alcoholic friend who I have written about over the last six months off and on passed away the other night. Dead at 64.

As I met some friends this morning, one person made that all to familiar remark; “he is in a better place now. He is with the Lord.”

But wasn’t the Lord with him while he slugging down can after can of Budweiser? It is these type of things that sometimes I just don’t get. That is until I open up the scripture. I opened up to Romans 7 and there it is in verses 15-21:

“For what I am doing, I do not understand. For what I will to do, that I do not practice; but what I hate, that I do.  If, then, I do what I will not to do, I agree with the law that it is good.  But now, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me.  For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells; for to will is present with me, but how to perform what is good I do not find.  For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice.  Now if I do what I will not to do, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me.
I find then a law, that evil is present with me, the one who wills to do good.”

God be with you Lester! I did my best!

Leave a Reply

