When Mom Can No Longer Walk: And Other Things


I have been watching my wife suffer from MS over the last eight years; the last two years have been the worst. This ‘Mother’s Day’ morning as she was reading the Bible she asked if I could turn the page for her. “I’m not able to do it.” I asked if this is a new chapter with MS or a temporary thing. “I dunno, please turn the page.”

I suppose in life when things are steadily ‘going downhill” with your body, the conversation does not become important anymore. It is what can be accomplished either with help or by oneself. I bought her this Bible for her birthday in March. She reads it every morning; and I do mean every morning. Now, I’ll be at the ready when she reads the Bible to assist her in her reading. This is a new assistance task I never thought I’d be doing for her or anyone for that matter.

As she left the kitchen table in her wheel chair this morning, she was so thankful for the chocolate candy and the card.

What prayer do you pray, what passage of Scripture do you turn to? For a moment that feeling of helplessness creeps in. When you struggle through the good and find that it is also dreadful.

But just as quick, the Lord enters my heart with His word:

Through the LORD’s mercies we are not consumed,
Because His compassion’s fail not.
They are new every morning;
Great
is Your faithfulness.
The LORD
is my portion,” says my soul,
“ Therefore I hope in Him!”

Lamentations 3:22-24

Because the MS has caused a Dementia like state,  her memory is slowly fading. She doesn’t always remember what her favorite dinner is, her favorite song, or even what day it is. I will make her favorite dinner tonight anyway.

Mom can’t do many things anymore.   I just pray I can continue to turn the pages of this journey God has blessed me with.

Leave a Reply

