Peter Bashing! Leave the Guy Alone!


Then Peter began to say to Him, “See, we have left all and followed You.” (Mark 10:28) Immediately the pastor I was listening to this past Sunday began the usual, “well, Peter once again opens his mouth…..”

Why is it that when ‘pastors’, teachers, come across a verse of scripture of when Peter either asks a question or makes a statement, the mocking begins. I don’t get it. Peter, oh by the way, was the man who said in Matthew 16:16 “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.” I know some pastor’s and teachers who would stumble  making a statement such as that one. Peter asks for explanations of parables (Matt 15:15), denies the Lord, comes running back to Him, stumbles with Paul and the list goes on.

Looking at Peter I can look at myself.I’ve made silly statements at Bible studies. I can’t name all the books of the Bible by memory. I ask the Lord often to explain verses of scripture to me. I did things hoping the Lord would never find out.  Don’t bash me because I don’t have all the answers, I really do want to know.

Please, leave Peter alone; he really did his best.

Besides how many “Peter basher’s” do you know would want to be crucified upside down?

Leave a Reply

